logo
La justification automatisée des comptes prend racine chez Scotts Miracle-Gro
Il y a plus de 100 ans, The Scotts Miracle-Gro Company a donné vie au concept de la pelouse bien entretenue. Depuis, la société est devenue le premier distributeur au monde de produits de marque dédiés au jardinage et à l’entretien de la pelouse auprès du grand public. Son portefeuille comprend des marques de renom comme Scotts, Miracle-Gro, Ortho et Roundup, qui au total génèrent près de 3 milliards $ de ventes chaque année.

Le défi
C’est notamment la quête d’un meilleur moyen de démontrer sa conformité à la loi SOX qui a incité Scotts Miracle-Gro à envisager d’automatiser ses processus de justification des comptes. Les auditeurs internes étaient de plus en plus déconcertés par le risque d’anomalies dans le système manuel de l’entreprise dédié aux justifications et à la documentation de suivi, qui s’appuyait sur une simple feuille de calcul. Comme au premier signe d’une mauvaise herbe poussant sur une pelouse ou dans une cour, Scotts Miracle-Gro savait qu’il était nécessaire d’agir dans l’immédiat pour éviter qu’un problème mineur ne se propage.

« Un examen de nos justifications a révélé ce que nous avons considéré comme une quantité ingérable d’exceptions et un manque de cohérence dans l’ensemble de l’entreprise », explique Laurel Johns, responsable de la consolidation et des contrôles financiers chez Scotts Miracle-Gro. Les idées et les opinions sur la forme que revêtent des justifications de comptes appropriées diffèrent dans toute l’entreprise. Les préparateurs de comptes situés dans le monde entier pouvaient approuver ce qu’ils considéraient comme une justification, là où ceux du siège ne voyaient rien de plus qu’une liste des activités du compte. Un compte pouvait également être exempt d’autorisations ou de la documentation appropriées ou présenter un écart qu’un préparateur pouvait juger acceptable, mais qui serait signalé ailleurs.

L’absence de standardisation a également donné lieu à des risques d’un manque d’efficacité des processus autour du suivi de la documentation appropriée. Comme toutes les activités des comptes, par exemple les tâches et les écritures de journal afférentes à un compte, se trouvaient dans des feuilles de calcul, des classeurs, des cahiers et des tiroirs distincts, l’équipe de consolidation et de contrôles financiers devait se frayer un chemin dans des piles de papier pour trouver les pièces justificatives appropriées et les examiner. Les contrôles fiscaux en cours étaient monnaie courante, et Laurel Johns explique que l’équipe devait souvent se démener pour déceler des exceptions et y remédier afin de satisfaire diverses demandes.

Lorsque Scotts Miracle-Gro a commencé à réfléchir aux exigences des meilleures pratiques en matière de justification, l’automatisation est apparue comme la solution évidente. « Comme les processus étaient manuels, beaucoup de temps d’investigation et de courriels étaient nécessaires pour traquer les bons documents », explique Laurel Johns, avant de poursuivre : « Il était difficile d’examiner et de localiser les données historiques. Plusieurs préparateurs pouvaient s’occuper d’un même compte, et personne ne savait avec certitude où étaient stockés les fichiers nécessaires. »

POURQUOI BLACKLINE
Pour Scotts Miracle-Gro, la solution automatisée devait être facile à utiliser et s’intégrer parfaitement à son environnement SAP, notamment en chargeant les soldes des comptes directement à partir de SAP ERP Financials. Au terme d’un examen de plusieurs solutions et prestataires, BlackLine, un partenaire de SAP, a été sélectionné pour fournir la fonctionnalité comptable dont l’entreprise avait besoin. À la suite de l’implémentation progressive des applications Account Reconciliations et Task Management, qui a débuté avec le groupe de comptabilité d’entreprise, la société a ajouté Journal Entry en 2015.

LES RÉSULTATS
Rôles et responsabilités définis. « Déterminer quels utilisateurs allaient prendre part à la préparation des justifications et à l’approbation a apporté énormément de valeur. Nous savions quels groupes étaient responsables de quels comptes, alors qu’auparavant nous ne savions pas toujours avec certitude qui les préparait ou les approuvait. Grâce à BlackLine, nous disposons d’une plateforme permettant de définir les rôles avec plus d’efficacité », indique Laurel Johns.

Certification automatique de plus de 1 000 comptes. Pour parvenir à ce que l’on appelle une meilleure pratique en matière de justification des comptes, Scotts Miracle-Gro a commencé par implémenter une vision cohérente de la représentation du solde de fin de mois de chaque compte SAP et a travaillé à rebours à partir de là, en modifiant un modèle reposant sur la finalité et les procédures propres aux comptes.

En renforçant les procédures compte par compte, la société a été en mesure de certifier automatiquement plus de 1 000 comptes. Il s’agit par exemple du paiement d’un loyer mensuel, d’un compte d’investissement relativement stable ou de quelconque compte affichant un solde statique, une activité prévisible ou un solde nul.

Gain de temps grâce à la standardisation. Le gain de temps ne s’est toutefois pas limité aux comptes automatiquement certifiés. La solution Account Reconciliations comporte un onglet en-tête qui permet à un préparateur, approbateur ou auditeur d’afficher l’historique d’un compte, ses procédures et une brève description de la finalité. Laurel Johns ajoute : « Cela semble simple, mais le fait que les informations validées relatives à des milliers de comptes se trouvent au même endroit permet de gagner beaucoup de temps. Qui plus est, nos collaborateurs auparavant en charge des justifications et des tâches administratives disposent désormais de plus de temps pour analyser le compte, et non simplement y saisir des nombres. »

Transition vers un processus dématérialisé. Outre le gain de temps, la société économise également des montagnes de papier grâce à l’automatisation de ce processus. Heather Lowe, analyste financière chez Scotts Miracle-Gro responsable de centaines de justifications de comptes, précise : « Avant BlackLine, des tonnes de papier étaient nécessaires chaque mois pour les justifications, car nous devions recopier les pièces justificatives du mois précédent.

Maintenant que le processus est dématérialisé, il est impossible de passer à côté de quelque chose, en plus du gain de temps et d’espace et des économies de papier. Les commentaires, annexes ou documents que je joins à une justification sont reportés dans le même poste. Et comme cela est automatique, je n’ai pas à m’en soucier, je peux désormais me concentrer sur le contenu du compte et s’il doit ou non faire l’objet d’un reclassement. »

Audits simplifiés. Scotts Miracle-Gro utilise Task Management pour automatiser et assurer le suivi de 18 tâches mensuelles, 142 tâches trimestrielles et 500 tâches annuelles, la plupart d’entre elles étant en lien avec l’audit ou le reporting. Laurel Johns explique : « Nous utilisons cette application pour documenter et stocker l’ensemble des demandes des auditeurs internes et externes. À présent, lorsque nous traitons une demande, nous sommes à même de transmettre les documents demandés en toute simplicité. »

Grâce à Journal Entry, la société a automatisé le processus d’approbation de toutes les activités dans le journal ce qui, à l’instar de l’automatisation des justifications, permet de gagner beaucoup de temps en évitant de devoir rechercher les informations nécessaires. Par exemple, les auditeurs peuvent effectuer une recherche en disposant uniquement de la référence d’un document SAP. Ils ont alors immédiatement accès à tout ce dont ils ont besoin, sans même devoir contacter l’équipe des finances.

Avant que nous ne recourions à la plateforme BlackLine, il pouvait être difficile de détecter les journaux mal placés ou mal remplis. Avec Journal Entry, que la société utilise pour automatiser près de 1 100 journaux, le suivi se fait presque sans effort. Il s’agit par exemple des signatures électroniques des préparateurs et des approbateurs. Il est ainsi possible de savoir clairement quelle a été la dernière personne à éditer le journal d’un compte. Il n’est plus nécessaire de déchiffrer une signature manuscrite qui pouvait appartenir à n’importe lequel des 150 membres de l’équipe.

Mais grâce à l’automatisation des justifications, de la gestion des tâches et des écritures de journal, nous avons nettement moins besoin de rechercher un signataire pour trouver une information manquante ou pour remettre en question une validation. Shannon Randolph, membre de l’équipe comptable et administratrice BlackLine chez Scotts Miracle-Gro, indique : « Le processus d’audit pour de nombreux contrôles SOX est devenu automatique. À partir du moment où les pièces jointes et les informations que nous fournissons correspondent, les auditeurs peuvent réaliser un audit mensuel sans même avoir à nous contacter. »

Scotts Miracle-Gro Success Story

logo
INDUSTRY

Cultures et production agricole

ERP

SAP

REGION

Global

COMPANY SIZE

Enterprise

BUSINESS IMPACT

● Automatisation de la justification de 4 700 comptes

● Activation de la certification automatique pour plus de 1 000 comptes

● Visibilité de bout en bout et automatisation du suivi de l’activité de l’ensemble des comptes

● Simplification des processus d’audit

Don’t take our word for it.
Request a customer reference.

In many cases we can connect you with a current customer for first-hand feedback on their experience with BlackLine.

Request a Reference

BlackLine Home page BlackLine home page
Solutions
Solutions
Financial Close Management
Financial Close Management
Overview
Overview
Account Reconciliations
Account Reconciliations
Task Management
Task Management
Transaction Matching
Transaction Matching
Journal Entry
Journal Entry
Compliance
Compliance
Variance Analysis
Variance Analysis
Smart Close for SAP
Smart Close for SAP
Accounts Receivable Automation
Accounts Receivable Automation
Overview
Overview
Cash Application
Cash Application
Credit & Risk Management
Credit & Risk Management
Collections Management
Collections Management
Disputes & Deductions
Disputes & Deductions
Team & Task Management
Team & Task Management
AR Intelligence
AR Intelligence
Intercompany Financial Management
Intercompany Financial Management
Overview
Overview
Intercompany Non-Trade
Intercompany Non-Trade
Intercompany Balance & Resolve
Intercompany Balance & Resolve
Intercompany Net & Settle
Intercompany Net & Settle
By Organization Size
By Organization Size
Midsize Organizations
Midsize Organizations
Large Enterprises
Large Enterprises
By Industry
By Industry
Banking & Financial Services
Banking & Financial Services
Consumer Products & Services
Consumer Products & Services
Energy & Raw Materials
Energy & Raw Materials
Healthcare & Life Sciences
Healthcare & Life Sciences
Manufacturing
Manufacturing
Retail
Retail
Technology, Media & Communications
Technology, Media & Communications
See All Industries
By ERP
By ERP
SAP
SAP
Oracle
Oracle
Oracle NetSuite
Oracle NetSuite
Microsoft Dynamics
Microsoft Dynamics
See All ERPs
By Topic
By Topic
Environmental, Social, and Governance
Environmental, Social, and Governance
Recruiting & Retaining Top Talent
Recruiting & Retaining Top Talent
Enabling an ERP Transformation
Enabling an ERP Transformation
Customers
Customers
Customer Success
Success Stories
Success Stories
Collaborative Accounting Experience
Collaborative Accounting Experience
Modern Accounting Playbook
Modern Accounting Playbook
BlackLine Services
BlackLine Services
CUSTOMER SUPPORT
Global Support
Global Support
Developer Portal
Developer Portal
BlackLine Community
BlackLine Community
Resources
Resources
Events
Events
Upcoming Webinars
Upcoming Webinars
On-Demand Webinars
On-Demand Webinars
White Papers
White Papers
Blog
Blog
Accounting Glossary
Accounting Glossary
Global Support
Global Support
About
About
Company
Company
About BlackLine
About BlackLine
Leadership
Leadership
Diversity, Equity & Inclusion
Diversity, Equity & Inclusion
Environmental, Social & Governance
Environmental, Social & Governance
In the News
In the News
Press Releases
Press Releases
Investors
Investors
Awards & Recognition
Awards & Recognition
Careers
Careers
Partners
Partners
Consulting Alliances
Consulting Alliances
Solution Provider Partners
Solution Provider Partners
Software & Cloud Partners
Software & Cloud Partners
Business Process Outsourcers
Business Process Outsourcers
logo
Automated Account Reconciliations Take Root at Scotts Miracle-Gro
Since The Scotts Miracle-Gro Company created the concept of a well-manicured lawn more than 100 years ago, it has become the world’s largest marketer of branded consumer lawn and garden products—with recognized brands such as Scotts, Miracle-Gro, Ortho, and Roundup combining for roughly $3 billion in annual sales.

THE CHALLENGE

Finding a better way to demonstrate SOX compliance was one of the key drivers that led Scotts Miracle-Gro to explore automating its account reconciliation procedures; internal auditors were increasingly disconcerted by the potential for deficiencies in the company’s spreadsheet-based manual system for reconciliations and pursuant documentation. Like the first sign of a weed sprouting in a lawn or patio, Scotts Miracle-Gro knew that immediate action was needed to prevent a minor issue from spreading.

“A review of our reconciliations found what we considered to be an uncomfortable amount of exceptions and a lack of consistency across the company,” says Laurel Johns, manager of finance consolidation and controls at Scotts Miracle-Gro. Ideas and opinions of what constituted proper account reconciliations differed enterprise wide. Account preparers in locations across the globe might sign off on what they deemed to be a reconciliation, but those in the corporate office viewed as little more than a listing of account activity. An account might also lack proper authorizations or documentation or contain a variance that a preparer might find acceptable that would be flagged elsewhere.

A lack of standardization also created opportunities for inefficiencies in processes around tracking the proper documentation. With all account activity—such as the tasks and journal entries attached to an account—being stored in standalone spreadsheets, binders, notebooks, and filing cabinets, the Finance Consolidation and Controls team was challenged with wading through stacks of paper first to locate and then review the appropriate supporting documents. Open tax audits were a regular occurrence, and Johns says that the team often had to scramble to find and close exceptions to satisfy various requests.

As Scotts Miracle-Gro began to think about requirements for reconciliation best practices, automation was seen as the obvious solution. “The manual processes had involved a lot of investigative time and e-mails to hunt down the right documentation,” says Johns. “Historical data was difficult to review and locate. We could have multiple preparers of an account, and no one knew for sure where the necessary files were stored.”

WHY BLACKLINE

For Scotts Miracle-Gro, requirements for an automated solution included ease-of-use and a seamless integration with its SAP environment, which would include loading account balances directly from SAP ERP Financials. A search of multiple solutions and vendors identified BlackLine, an SAP partner, for delivering the accounting functionality the business needed. After a phased implementation of the Account Reconciliations and Task Management applications that began with the corporate accounting group, the company added Journal Entry in 2015.

THE RESULTS

Defined roles and responsibilities. “Defining which users were going to be involved with preparing the reconciliation and the approval added a lot of value; we knew which groups had responsibility for an account, but previously, we weren’t always sure who exactly was preparing or approving them. BlackLine gives us a platform to define roles more effectively,” says Johns.

Auto-certified more than 1,000 accounts. To achieve a best-practice definition for an account reconciliation, Scotts Miracle-Gro started with a consistent view of how the month-end balance in every SAP account is portrayed and worked backward from there, modifying a template based on an account’s specific purpose and procedures.

By firming up procedures on an account-by-account basis, the business was able to achieve auto-certification for more than 1,000 accounts. This includes items such as a monthly lease payment, a relatively stable investment account, or any account with static balances, predictable activity, or a zero balance.

Saved time with standardization. Time savings, though, are not limited to accounts that are auto-certified. The Account Reconciliations solution includes a header tab that shows a preparer, approver, or auditor an account’s history, its procedures, and a brief description of the purpose. “It seems simple, but when thousands of accounts have this validated information all in one place, it saves a lot of time,” Johns says. “And the people who had been performing reconciliations and clerical work are now free to spend that time analyzing the account rather than just putting a number on it.”

Gained a paperless process. In addition to saving time, the business is now saving heaps of paper, too, with its automated process. “Before BlackLine, completing a reconciliation every month required stacks of paper, as we had to re-copy supporting documentation from the previous month,” says Heather Lowe, financial analyst at Scotts Miracle-Gro, who is responsible for hundreds of account reconciliations.

“Now, with a paperless process, in addition to saving a lot of time, space, and paper, there’s no chance of missing anything. When I attach a comment, schedule, or documentation to a reconciliation, it carries forward in the same line item. Without having to worry about any of that, I can now focus on what’s in the account and whether anything needs to be reclassified.”

Simplified audits. Scotts Miracle-Gro uses Task Management to automate and track 18 monthly tasks, 142 quarterly tasks, and 500 annual tasks, most of which are driven by audit or reporting. “We use the application to document and store all requests from internal or external auditors,” Johns says. “When we complete the request, now we can easily provide any of the needed documentation.”

With Journal Entry, the business automated the approval process for all journal activity which, like automated reconciliations, saves a great deal of time from having to track down needed information. Auditors, for example, can search for a journal using just an SAP document number and immediately have access to everything they need — without having to even interact with the finance team.

Prior to the BlackLine platform, finding a misplaced or misfiled journal could be a challenge. With Journal Entry—which the business now uses to automate approximately 1,100 journals—monitoring is nearly effortless. This includes electronic signatures for preparers and approvers, which makes it crystal clear who last touched an account’s journal, compared with having to decipher a handwritten signature that could be one of 150 team members.

But by having automated reconciliations, task management, and journal entries, the very need to hunt for a signatory to find missing information or to question a validation is greatly diminished. “The audit process for many of our SOX controls has become hands-free,” says Shannon Randolph, staff accountant and BlackLine administrator at Scotts Miracle-Gro. “As long as the attached documentation and the information that we provide matches, auditors can complete a monthly audit without even having to contact us.”

Scotts Miracle-Gro Success Story

logo
INDUSTRY

Crops & Agricultural Production

ERP

SAP

REGION

Global

COMPANY SIZE

Enterprise

BUSINESS IMPACT
  • Automated account reconciliation for 4,700 accounts

  • Allowed auto-certification of more than 1,000 accounts

  • Provided end-to-end visibility and automated monitoring of all account activity

  • Simplified audit processes

Don't take our word for it.
Request a customer reference.

In many cases we can connect you with a current customer for first-hand feedback on their experience with BlackLine.

Request a Reference