logo
Die 12-jährige Reise von Philips mit Smart Close
Philips Medical Systems entwickelt innovative Lösungen in Zusammenarbeit mit Kliniken und ihren Kunden, um die Ergebnisse für die Patienten zu verbessern, einen besseren Nutzen zu bieten und den Zugang zur Versorgung zu erweitern. Die 37.000 Mitarbeiter des Unternehmens bieten mehr als 450 Produkte und Dienstleistungen in 100 Ländern an, und 8 % des Umsatzes werden in Forschung und Entwicklung investiert.

DIE HERAUSFORDERUNG

Vor Smart Close verfügte Philips über einen klar definierten Abschlussprozess, aber wie viele Unternehmen verwalteten sie die Abschlussaufgaben mit Excel-Tabellen, die per E-Mail oder über Netzwerkserver verteilt wurden. Es erforderte viele Arbeitsstunden, um alle Teile des Prozesses genau zu überwachen und sicherzustellen, dass jeder Punkt rechtzeitig und planmäßig erledigt wurde.

Im Durchschnitt dauerte der monatliche Abschlussprozess bei Philips mehr als eine Woche, weil Excel nicht effizient genug war. Darüber hinaus war Excel eine unzureichende Lösung, da es weder einen zuverlässigen Nachweis für die korrekte Durchführung der Prozessabläufe noch die für die interne Kontrolle unerlässliche Dokumentation lieferte.

WARUM BLACKLINE

Philips erkannte, dass seine Finanzprozesse verbessert werden mussten und entschied sich für die Implementierung von Smart Close. "Philips kann auf viele erfolgreiche Jahre zurückblicken, die dazu beigetragen haben, dass das Unternehmen einen guten Ruf genießt. Eine der Verantwortlichkeiten eines weltweit führenden Unternehmens ist ein starkes Finanzberichtssystem, und dafür verlassen wir uns auf Smart Close", sagt Segers.

Im Rückblick auf den ursprünglichen Excel-basierten Prozess nennt Segers einen Mangel an globaler Transparenz, Eigenverantwortung und Rechenschaftspflicht als die größten Herausforderungen, denen sie gegenüberstanden. "An unserem monatlichen Bilanzierungsverfahren sind viele Funktionen wie Finanzen, Logistik und unser Projektbüro beteiligt. Vor Smart Close behielt nur der Controller den Überblick über die Informationen", erklärt er. "Heute kann jeder für sich selbst überprüfen, was er bis zu welchem Termin liefern muss, und das Ergebnis sehen, wenn die Aufgabe abgeschlossen ist. Durch die Einbeziehung aller Abschlussschritte müssen die Anwender die Aufgaben in der richtigen Reihenfolge erledigen. Dieses neue Verfahren hat es viel einfacher gemacht, die richtigen Leute zur Verantwortung zu ziehen."

Die Implementierung des benutzergesteuerten, benutzerfreundlichen Smart Close-Systems hat bei Philips eine Kultur der Eigenverantwortung geschaffen und gleichzeitig die Zeit für die Aufgabenerledigung und die Fehlerquote erheblich reduziert. Es setzt klare Erwartungen und gibt den Anwendern bequeme Tools an die Hand, um Papierkram und unnötige Probleme am Monatsende zu vermeiden. Auch die Anwender werden von der automatisierten Finanzsoftware positiv beeinflusst und genießen die Vorteile eines schnellen Reportings, klarer Prozesse und geringerer Kosten.

DIE ERGEBNISSE

Verbesserte Prozesseffizienz. Wenn man den gesamten ROI nach der Implementierung von Smart Close betrachtet, ist die größte Auswirkung, die die Lösung auf Philips hatte, die Verbesserung der Prozesseffizienz. Die Datenerfassung, Aufgabenüberwachung und Nachverfolgung sind jetzt optimiert und genau. Die Umstellung von Philips auf Smart Close hat Continuous Accounting ermöglicht und macht Informationen über den gesamten End-to-End-Prozess verfügbar.

Auf die Frage nach den Auswirkungen auf die Abschlussüberwachung und das Follow-up (die größten Ursachen für Verzögerungen beim Abschluss bei Philips) sieht Segers einen klaren Kontrast zwischen der Einfachheit des Arbeitens mit Smart Close und den früheren Tagen mit endlosen E-Mails und Telefonaten. "Heute überwacht der Controller lediglich, ob jeder seinen Teil erledigt hat, und wenn nicht, sendet er eine Nachricht oder ruft an, um schnell und effizient mit allen Mitarbeitern zu kommunizieren, die ein Risiko für die Verzögerung des Prozesses darstellen."

ROI Jahr für Jahr nach der Implementierung. Philips hat Smart Close in weniger als drei Monaten implementiert und ist begeistert von der schnellen Implementierung und dem schnellen ROI. Obwohl Philips Smart Close bereits seit 12 Jahren einsetzt, ist das Unternehmen weiterhin von den Vorteilen überzeugt. "Das Tolle an Smart Close ist, dass wir, wann immer ein zusätzlicher Schritt erforderlich ist, die Änderung einfach selbst vornehmen können", erklärt Segers. "Das senkt die Kosten und macht uns unabhängig von der IT."

Die detaillierten Abschlussaufgaben von Philips und ein zentrales Prozessrepository haben auch kontinuierliche Prozessverbesserungen ermöglicht. Mit Smart Close können wiederkehrende Engpässe erkannt und Prozessverbesserungen leicht zentral vorgenommen werden. Auf die Frage, welche Ratschläge er zukünftigen Nutzern von Smart Close geben würde, sagt Segers: "Es ist mehr als eine automatisierte Finanzsoftware, es ist auch ein Werkzeug zur Prozessverbesserung. Mein Rat für Neukunden: Die Zustimmung des Managements ist ein absolutes Muss. Die ersten Monate vor der Implementierung waren eine Phase der Prozessoptimierung, und jetzt erfüllt Smart Close unsere hohen Standards - zur Freude aller." Nachdem der Abschlussprozess von Philips von einem mit Fehlern behafteten Wochenprozess zu einem nahezu fehlerfreien Tagesprozess geworden ist, ist seine Begeisterung verständlich.

INDUSTRY

Computer Software & Services

ERP

SAP

REGION

Global

COMPANY SIZE

Enterprise

VORTEILE
  • Implementierung von Smart Close in weniger als drei Monaten

  • Nutzen eines unternehmensübergreifenden Dashboards zur Überwachung von 13 Buchungskreisen und zur Vorbeugung potenzieller Probleme, bevor diese auftreten können.

Don't take our word for it.
Request a customer reference.

In many cases we can connect you with a current customer for first-hand feedback on their experience with BlackLine.

Request a Reference

BlackLine Home page BlackLine home page
Solutions
Solutions
Financial Close Management
Financial Close Management
Overview
Overview
Account Reconciliations
Account Reconciliations
Task Management
Task Management
Transaction Matching
Transaction Matching
Journal Entry
Journal Entry
Compliance
Compliance
Variance Analysis
Variance Analysis
Smart Close for SAP
Smart Close for SAP
Accounts Receivable Automation
Accounts Receivable Automation
Overview
Overview
Cash Application
Cash Application
Credit & Risk Management
Credit & Risk Management
Collections Management
Collections Management
Disputes & Deductions
Disputes & Deductions
Team & Task Management
Team & Task Management
AR Intelligence
AR Intelligence
Intercompany Financial Management
Intercompany Financial Management
Overview
Overview
Intercompany Non-Trade
Intercompany Non-Trade
Intercompany Balance & Resolve
Intercompany Balance & Resolve
Intercompany Net & Settle
Intercompany Net & Settle
By Organization Size
By Organization Size
Midsize Organizations
Midsize Organizations
Large Enterprises
Large Enterprises
By Industry
By Industry
Banking & Financial Services
Banking & Financial Services
Consumer Products & Services
Consumer Products & Services
Energy & Raw Materials
Energy & Raw Materials
Healthcare & Life Sciences
Healthcare & Life Sciences
Manufacturing
Manufacturing
Retail
Retail
Technology, Media & Communications
Technology, Media & Communications
See All Industries
By ERP
By ERP
SAP
SAP
Oracle
Oracle
Oracle NetSuite
Oracle NetSuite
Microsoft Dynamics
Microsoft Dynamics
See All ERPs
By Topic
By Topic
Environmental, Social, and Governance
Environmental, Social, and Governance
Recruiting & Retaining Top Talent
Recruiting & Retaining Top Talent
Enabling an ERP Transformation
Enabling an ERP Transformation
Customers
Customers
Customer Success
Success Stories
Success Stories
Collaborative Accounting Experience
Collaborative Accounting Experience
Modern Accounting Playbook
Modern Accounting Playbook
BlackLine Services
BlackLine Services
CUSTOMER SUPPORT
Global Support
Global Support
Developer Portal
Developer Portal
BlackLine Community
BlackLine Community
Resources
Resources
Events
Events
Upcoming Webinars
Upcoming Webinars
On-Demand Webinars
On-Demand Webinars
White Papers
White Papers
Blog
Blog
Accounting Glossary
Accounting Glossary
Global Support
Global Support
About
About
Company
Company
About BlackLine
About BlackLine
Leadership
Leadership
Diversity, Equity & Inclusion
Diversity, Equity & Inclusion
Environmental, Social & Governance
Environmental, Social & Governance
In the News
In the News
Press Releases
Press Releases
Investors
Investors
Awards & Recognition
Awards & Recognition
Careers
Careers
Partners
Partners
Consulting Alliances
Consulting Alliances
Solution Provider Partners
Solution Provider Partners
Software & Cloud Partners
Software & Cloud Partners
Business Process Outsourcers
Business Process Outsourcers
logo
Philips’ 12-Year Journey with Smart Close
Philips Medical Systems develops innovative solutions by partnering with clinicians and their customers to improve patient outcomes, provide better value, and expand access to care. Their 37,000 employees are offering more than 450 products and services in 100 countries, and 8% of sales is invested back into research and development.

THE CHALLENGE

Before Smart Close, Philips had a well-defined closing process, but like many companies, they managed closing tasks with Excel spreadsheets that were distributed by email or network servers. It took many man-hours to rigorously monitor all the parts of the process to ensure that each item was completed on time and according to plan.

On average, Philips’ monthly closing process took more than a week to complete because of Excel inefficiencies. In addition, Excel was an inadequate solution because it provided neither reliable evidence that process procedures were completed correctly nor the documentation that is essential for internal control tasks.

WHY BLACKLINE

Realizing that their financial processes needed improvement, Philips chose to implement Smart Close. “Philips has a long history of leadership that has helped create its well-respected name. One of the responsibilities of being a global business leader is having a strong financial reporting system and for that, we rely on Smart Close,” says Segers.

Reflecting on their original Excel-based process, Segers cites a lack of global visibility, ownership, and accountability as the largest challenges they faced. “Our monthly balancing procedure involves a lot of functions such as finance, logistics, and our project office. Before Smart Close, only the controller kept track of information,” he explains. “Today, everyone can see for themselves what they need to deliver by what deadline and view the result when the task is complete. By including all the closing steps, end users have to complete tasks in the proper order. This new procedure has made it a lot easier to hold the right people accountable.”

Implementing the user-driven, user-friendly Smart Close system has created a culture of ownership at Philips while greatly reducing task completion time and errors. It sets clear expectations and arms users with convenient tools to eliminate paperwork and needless end-of-month struggles. Their users are positively impacted by the automated financial software as well, and enjoying the benefits of fast reporting, clear processes, and reduced cost.

THE RESULTS

Improved Process Efficiency. When considering all the ROI after implementing Smart Close, the single largest impact the solution has had on Philips has been improving process efficiency. Data collection, task monitoring, and follow-up are now streamlined and accurate. Philips’ switch to Smart Close has enabled Continuous Accounting and makes information available throughout the end-to-end process.

When asked about the impact on close monitoring and follow-up (Philips’ largest sources of closing delays), Segers draws a sharp contrast between the ease of working with Smart Close and the earlier days of endless emails and phone calls. “Today the controller just monitors if everyone has done their part, and, if not, sends a message or makes a call to communicate quickly and efficiently with any workers who pose a risk to delaying the process.”

ROI year over year after Implementation. Having implemented Smart Close in less than three months, Philips is delighted with the fast implementation and quick ROI. Although using Smart Close for 12 years, Philips continues to be pleased with the benefits. “The great thing about Smart Close is that whenever an additional step is necessary, we can simply make the change ourselves,” explains Segers. “It cuts costs and gives us independence from IT.”

Philips’ detailed closing tasks and a central process repository have also enabled continuous process improvements. With Smart Close, recurring bottlenecks can be detected and process improvements can easily be made centrally. When asked what advice he would offer future Smart Close users, Segers says, “It is more than automated financial software, it’s also a process enhancement tool. For new customers, my advice is that management endorsement is an absolute must. The initial months before implementation were a period of procedural optimization, and now Smart Close is performing to our high standards, to everyone’s delight.” After taking Philips’ closing process from an error-filled weeks process to an almost and very close error-free days process, his feelings are understandable.

INDUSTRY

Computer Software & Services

ERP

SAP

REGION

Global

COMPANY SIZE

Enterprise

BUSINESS IMPACT
  • Implemented Smart Close in less than three months

  • Utilizes its cross-company dashboard to monitor 13 company codes and prevent potential problems before they can occur

Don't take our word for it.
Request a customer reference.

In many cases we can connect you with a current customer for first-hand feedback on their experience with BlackLine.

Request a Reference