Standardisation des réconciliations à travers 64 pays

Faisant partie du groupe Dentsu, Dentsu International est composée de six marques phares - Carat, dentsuX, iProspect, Isobar, Dentsu Mcgarrybowen, Merkle - et soutenu par ses marques spécialisées.

Dentsu International aide ses clients à gagner, conserver et développer leurs meilleurs clients et à réaliser des progrès significatifs pour leurs entreprises. S'appuyant sur les meilleurs services et solutions de leur catégorie dans les domaines des médias, de la gestion de la relation client et de la création, Dentsu International opère sur plus de 145 marchés dans le monde avec plus de 45 000 spécialistes dédiés.

Le défi

Entreprise d'envergure mondiale comptant plus de 11 000 clients et 46 000 employés, le processus de clôture de Dentsu International était une tâche complexe en raison de l'utilisation de 50 ERP différents dans 64 pays. "Nous n'avions pas de norme mondiale pour les rapprochements", explique Paul Gordon, contrôleur financier du groupe Dentsu.

"Nos comptables s'appuyaient sur de multiples feuilles de calcul Excel. Chaque site avait sa propre façon d'effectuer les rapprochements." Le processus existant nuisait également à la visibilité des activités des activité de clôture de fin de mois et à leur progression. "Nous voulions accroître la transparence au niveau du groupe des rapprochements de bilans par pays", explique Paul Gordon. Il ajoute également "une meilleure transparence nous aiderait à réduire les résultats des audits de bilan et à diminuer les risques."

Si les dirigeants ont reconnu la nécessité d'établir une norme mondiale, d'accroître l'automatisation et d'éliminer les tâches effectuées manuellement et sujettes aux erreurs, ils avaient également des préoccupations réalistes quant aux défis technologiques spécifiques à la complexité comptable de Dentsu.

"Nombreuses étaient les questions quant à la manière de déployer rapidement une instance unique sur plusieurs marchés. Nous avionsdes contraintes linguistiques, des nuances de marché local et divers plans comptables non reliés entre les entités juridiques.”

Pourquoi BlackLine

Après avoir étudié et testé plusieurs plateformes, Dentsu a sélectionné BlackLine et déployé Account

Reconciliations et Task Management en Australie et en Malaisie sur l'année 2015. En 2019, l'entreprise a relancé BlackLine dans le cadre de son TSA, Target System Architecture  (architecture de système cible) et de sa feuille de route FIT, Finance, Amélioration (Improve) et Transformation.

"La relance initiale s'est concentrée sur la mise en œuvre de la réconciliation des comptes et de la gestion des tâches en Australie et dans les pays du MENA en tant que marchés pilotes", explique Paul Gordon. "Le pilote comprenait la sélection d'un partenaire (EY), la révision des politiques associées, la conception d'une API D365 et une formation approfondie."

Le pilote s'est révélé être un immense succès, ce qui a conduit Dentsu à former sa propre équipe interne de déploiement et de BAU pour gérer toutes les mises en œuvre futures.

"BlackLine nous a apporté une aide précieuse au début en recommandant et en sélectionnant des partenaires", précise Paul Gordon. "Après cela, nous avons pu déployer BlackLine de manière relativement indépendante. Nous obtenions rapidement une réponse à toutes les questions que nous nous posions via le portail de tickets de BlackLine."

La plupart des déploiements ont eu lieu après mars 2020, réalisés via des sessions de conception et de formation à distance entièrement virtuelles. Actuellement, BlackLine est déployé dans cinq nouveaux pays supplémentaires chaque mois, sur une variété d'ERP, notamment SAP, DS1, AX, Spectre, Peprika, Marathon, Navision, NetSuite, SAGE, Symsys, et Advertmind.

"91% des entités dans plus de 64 pays fonctionnent désormais dans un environnement BlackLine en direct", déclare Paul Gordon. "Nous prévoyons que 100 % des entreprises utiliseront BlackLine d'ici la fin du premier trimestre 2022”

Les résultats

Gain de temps. Avant BlackLine, les comptables de Dentsu se débattaient avec un système largement manuel, basé sur un processus de clôture sur tableur.

"Nous avons maintenant plus de 140 000 rapprochements effectués dans BlackLine, des rapprochements qui étaient auparavant effectués dans Excel dans des formats non standardisés. 80% de nos rapprochements sont auto-certifiés", déclare Paul Gordon.

"Nous avons également réduit le nombre total de rapprochements en utilisant BlackLine pour nettoyer les grands livres généraux sous-jacents, et nous avons consolidé tous les postes ouverts en utilisant le modèle d'importation de BlackLine. Cela nous épargne de laborieuses tâches manuelles."

Rapprochements standardisés dans 64 pays . Le processus de rapprochement est désormais cohérent

dans toutes les entités de Dentsu. "Nos comptables s'appuient sur des modèles standardisés dans BlackLine", déclare Paul Gordon.

"Les écarts locaux, les exceptions ou les modifications des dates d'échéance et des fréquences sont gérés à l'aide de règles et de paramètres de compte modifiés au sein même de BlackLine."

Visibilité accrue. Grâce à BlackLine, le personnel dispose désormais d'une visibilité totale sur la clôture, un facteur clé pour réduire les erreurs cachées, atténuer les risques et réduire les doubles tâches inutiles. "La plus grande visibilité qu’offre BlackLine nous a permis de rationaliser notre plan comptable", ajoute Paul Gordon. "Nous avons réduit notre nombre de comptes et suspendu les comptes à solde nul dans les ERP sous-jacents".

Simplification des audits. Les auditeurs ont un accès à distance à BlackLine, ce qui élimine la nécessité de partager des fichiers complexes ou d'imprimer des feuilles de calcul. "Pendant la pandémie, cette fonctionnalité a permis de simplifier le processus d'examen dans un environnement distant", explique Paul Gordon.

Obtenir une vue globale des tâches. Auparavant, les tâches de clôture étaient gérées via des feuilles de calcul. Désormais, Dentsu suit plus de 20 000 tâches de fin de mois dans BlackLine.

"Nous avons tiré parti des dépendances de tâches et de la fonctionnalité inter-modules de BlackLine pour gérer plus efficacement notre clôture de fin de mois", déclare Paul Gordon.

Confiance accrue dans les registres. La clôture précédente de Dentsu, basée sur des feuilles de calcul, nécessitait un fastidieux et longtravail manuel et augmentait le risque d'erreur. "Avec BlackLine, nous savons que les soldes rapprochés sont corrects et largement automatisés avec un minimum d'intervention manuelle."

Industrie

Media & Advertising

ERP

50+

Region

Global

Taille d'entreprise

Enterprise

Les resultats

Gain de temps

Rapprochements standardisés dans 64 pays

Visibilité accrue

Simplification des audits

Obtention d'une vision globale des tâches

Confiance accrue dans les registres


Read Their Success Story
Don't take our word for it.
Request a customer reference.

In many cases we can connect you with a current customer for first-hand feedback on their experience with BlackLine.

Request a Reference

BlackLine Home page BlackLine home page
Solutions
Solutions
Financial Close Management
Financial Close Management
Overview
Overview
Account Reconciliations
Account Reconciliations
Task Management
Task Management
Transaction Matching
Transaction Matching
Journal Entry
Journal Entry
Compliance
Compliance
Variance Analysis
Variance Analysis
Smart Close for SAP
Smart Close for SAP
Accounts Receivable Automation
Accounts Receivable Automation
Overview
Overview
Cash Application
Cash Application
Credit & Risk Management
Credit & Risk Management
Collections Management
Collections Management
Disputes & Deductions
Disputes & Deductions
Team & Task Management
Team & Task Management
AR Intelligence
AR Intelligence
Intercompany Financial Management
Intercompany Financial Management
Overview
Overview
BlackLine Intercompany
BlackLine Intercompany
By Organization Size
By Organization Size
Midsize Organizations
Midsize Organizations
Large Enterprises
Large Enterprises
By Industry
By Industry
Banking & Financial Services
Banking & Financial Services
Consumer Products & Services
Consumer Products & Services
Energy & Raw Materials
Energy & Raw Materials
Healthcare & Life Sciences
Healthcare & Life Sciences
Manufacturing
Manufacturing
Retail
Retail
Technology, Media & Communications
Technology, Media & Communications
See All Industries
By ERP
By ERP
SAP
SAP
Oracle
Oracle
Oracle NetSuite
Oracle NetSuite
Microsoft Dynamics
Microsoft Dynamics
See all ERPs
Customers
Customers
Customer Success
Success Stories
Success Stories
Collaborative Accounting Experience
Collaborative Accounting Experience
Modern Accounting Playbook
Modern Accounting Playbook
Training & Education
Training & Education
CUSTOMER SUPPORT
Global Support
Global Support
Developer Portal
Developer Portal
BlackLine Community
BlackLine Community
Resources
Resources
Events
Events
Upcoming Webinars
Upcoming Webinars
On-Demand Webinars
On-Demand Webinars
White Papers
White Papers
Blog
Blog
Accounting Glossary
Accounting Glossary
Global Support
Global Support
About
About
Company
Company
About BlackLine
About BlackLine
Leadership
Leadership
In The News
In The News
Press Releases
Press Releases
Investors
Investors
Awards & Recognition
Awards & Recognition
Careers
Careers
Partners
Partners
Consulting Alliances
Consulting Alliances
Solution Provider Partners
Solution Provider Partners
Software & Cloud Partners
Software & Cloud Partners
Business Process Outsourcers
Business Process Outsourcers
logo
Standardising Reconciliations Across 64 Countries
Part of the Dentsu Group, Dentsu International is made up of six leadership brands—Carat, dentsuX, iProspect, Isobar, Dentsu Mcgarrybowen, Merkle—and supported by its specialist brands. Dentsu International helps clients to win, keep, and grow their best customers and achieve meaningful progress for their businesses. With best-in-class services and solutions in media, CXM, and creative, Dentsu International operates in over 145 markets worldwide with more than 45,000 dedicated specialists.

THE CHALLENGE

A global organization with more than 11,000 clients and 46,000 employees, Dentsu International’s close process was complicated using 50 different ERPs across 64 countries. “We didn’t have a global standard for reconciliations,” says Paul Gordon, Group Finance Controller at Dentsu.

“Our accountants relied on multiple Excel spreadsheets. Each location had their own way of performing reconciliations.” The existing process also hampered visibility of month-end close activities and progress. “We wanted to increase transparency at the group level of country balance sheet reconciliations,” says Paul Gordon. “Better transparency would help us reduce balance sheet audit findings and reduce risk.”

While leadership recognised the need to establish a global standard, increase automation, and eliminate error-prone manual work, they also had realistic concerns about the technology challenges specific to Dentsu’s accounting complexity.

“There were questions about how to rapidly deploy a single instance across multiple markets. We had language constraints, local market nuances, and various unrelated Chart of Accounts across legal entities.”

WHY BLACKLINE

After researching and testing several platforms, Dentsu selected BlackLine and rolled out Account Reconciliations and Task Management to Australia and Malaysia in 2015. In 2019, the company relaunched BlackLine as part of their Target System Architecture (TSA) and Finance, Improve, and Transformation (FIT) roadmap.

“The initial relaunch focused on implementing Account Reconciliation and Task Management in Australia and MENA countries as pilot markets,” says Paul Gordon. “The pilot included the selection of a partner (EY), revision of associated policies, the design of a D365 API, and extensive training.”

The pilot was highly successful, leading Dentsu to form their own internal deployment and BAU team to manage all future implementations.

“BlackLine provided great support in the beginning by recommending and vetting partners,” says Paul Gordon. “After that, we were able to roll out BlackLine relatively independently. Any questions we had were quickly answered via BlackLine’s ticketing portal.”

Most deployments occurred after March 2020, completed via fully virtual remote design and training sessions. Currently, BlackLine is rolled out to an additional five new countries every month, across a variety of ERPs, including SAP, DS1, AX, Spectre, Peprika, Marathon, Navision, NetSuite, SAGE, Symsys, and Advertmind.

“Ninety-one percent of entities in more than 64 countries are now operating within a live BlackLine environment,” says Paul Gordon. “We anticipate 100% percent of the business will use BlackLine by the end of Q1 2022”

THE RESULTS

Saved time. Prior to BlackLine, Dentsu’s accountants struggled with a highly manual, spreadsheetdriven close process.

“We now have more than 140k reconciliations being performed within BlackLine, recs that were previously performed in Excel in non-standardised formats. Eighty percent of our reconciliations are auto-certified,” says Paul Gordon.

“We have also reduced the total number of recs by using BlackLine to clean up underlying GLs, and we have consolidated all open items using the BlackLine import template. This saves us a lot of manual effort.”

Standardised reconciliations across 64 countries. The reconciliation process is now consistent across all Dentsu entities. “Our accountants rely on standardised templates within BlackLine,” says Paul Gordon.

“Any local deviations, exceptions, or changes in due dates and frequencies are managed with the help of account rules and settings modified within BlackLine itself.”

Increased visibility. With BlackLine, staff now have complete visibility into the close, a key factor in reducing hidden errors, mitigating risk, and reducing duplication of effort. “The greater visibility within BlackLine has helped us rationalise our chart of accounts,” says Paul Gordon. “We’ve reduced our number of accounts and suspended zero balance accounts in underlying ERPs.”

Simplified audits. Auditors have remote access to BlackLine, eliminating the need to share complex files or print out spreadsheets. “During the pandemic, this capability was instrumental in simplifying the review process in a remote environment,” says Paul Gordon.

Gained a global view of tasks. Previously, close tasks were managed via spreadsheets. Today, Dentsu tracks more than 20,000 month-end tasks within BlackLine.

“We have leveraged BlackLine’s task dependencies and cross-module functionality to manage our month-end close more effectively,” says Paul Gordon.

Increased confidence in the books. Dentsu’s previous spreadsheet-driven close required tremendous manual work and increased the risk of error. “With BlackLine, we know that balances being reconciled are correct and largely automated with minimal manual intervention.”

INDUSTRY

Media & Advertising

ERP

50+

REGION

Global

COMPANY SIZE

Enterprise

BUSINESS IMPACT
  • Saved time

  • Standardised reconciliations across 64 countries

  • Increased visibility

  • Simplified audits

  • Gained a global view of tasks

  • Increased confidence in the books.

Don't take our word for it.
Request a customer reference.

In many cases we can connect you with a current customer for first-hand feedback on their experience with BlackLine.

Request a Reference