BlackLine Systems CEO Selected as Finalist for 2011 LABJ ‘Women Making a Difference’ Awards


Woodland Hills, Calif– May 23, 2011 – BlackLine Systems CEO and Founder Therese Tucker was named a Finalist in the Los Angeles Business Journal (LABJ) ‘Women Making a Difference’ Awards – honoring “women of outstanding achievement in the Los Angeles business community.”

The Finalist distinction reflects Tucker’s accomplishments in building and growing the financial software provider into the leading company in its space. The LABJ will publish a special supplement highlighting all honorees in the May 23rd edition, due out today.

BlackLine revenues were up by more than 50 percent in both 2009 and 2010. The company also reported its strongest quarter on record in Q1, with its sales team closing half as many new deals in the first quarter of 2011 alone – traditionally the slowest time of year for software sales – as in the entire calendar year 2010. The 2009 growth follows three sequential previous years where the company’s revenues doubled under Tucker’s direction.

The LABJ achievement follows a number of other recent accolades for BlackLine. In October 2010, Accounting Today named Tucker to its “10 Worth Watching” list of “pioneers in the accounting profession.” BlackLine also ranked 61st nationally and 3rd in Los Angeles on Deloitte’s 2010 Technology Fast 500™. Earlier this year, BlackLine was named a Red Herring 100 Global Winner – recognizing the company as one of the “most innovative and promising” tech ventures in the world.

The San Fernando Valley Business Journal also just honored Tucker as a “Woman of the Decade.” Global ERP/business software leader SAP® named BlackLine a Finalist for a 2011 Pinnacle Award in the ‘Software Solution Newcomer of the Year’ category.

And, most recently, BlackLine was selected as a Finalist for The Stevie Awards® 2011 American Business Awards? (ABA) – “the nation’s premier business awards program, recognizing outstanding performance in the workplace.” Stevie ABA winners will be announced during the annual gala on Monday, June 20, at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City.